Technology and the Young


I’d like to start off by apologising for my own absence, this can be blamed, yes, on technology.  My internet connection has been downright disgraceful, but I suppose that’s what to expect when you live in the middle of nowhere.

Anyway, what is going on with children nowadays and technology?  In the olden days it was the adults who held the power and the magic of machines at their fingertips.  Oh, how it has changed.

I, however, have maintained an interest in technology and like to say that I am quite ‘with it’ compared to some, even in my own age range.  But, this does not hold a candle to the youngsters of today.

I know what an iPod is, I know how to use a computer to a relative high standard, and I have my own library of digital music.  Compare that with a sixteen year old, who not only know what an iPod is but own an iPod, iPad and iMac, can programme and make their own computer, as well write their own digital music.  I’m sure, too, that they do it on purpose, just to make me look inferior.  They do, probably.

I am getting slightly worried though, that my own daughter is already catching up to my level of competence with everything.  She can already use the iPod better than me and if I actually let her play with my phone, I’m pretty sure that she’d be phoning her friends that she met on facebook and twitter.  I swear her twitter name is ‘daddyisrubbishatthis10’.

If it wasn’t for the fact that I’m still better at computers than most of the people older than me, I would be in a padded cell.  Nibbling on a keyboard…

Leave a Reply

