Man, I need a holiday….


In the time that I have been away (I haven’t actually been anywhere, I’m just very unorganised) and have not been updating much, I have achieved many things.

I still have not done any decorating however, but that’s not what’s on trial here, but I have done something that is just as important….  I’ve booked a holiday.

“We’re all going on a summer holiday!” (Sung in the best Cliff Richard voice).

Well, let’s not get carried away.  It’s not during the summer months so does not guarantee good weather, nor does it make it a summer holiday.  You may ask, ‘well if you’re going on holiday, go to a sunnier country?!’.

Well yes, you’re quite right, if it weren’t for the fact that it is in fact a ‘staycation’.  I have no idea where that term came from, but now it won’t leave my head, but it means that I will be holidaying in this country.  The United Kingdom. 

No, I’m not mad.

There are many factors as to why we holiday at home.  I have a young daughter, aged 2, who I have yet to get a passport for.  Can’t leave the country.  I don’t much like the hot sun, not a real concern in England.  I’m skint, always a good reason.

We are set to spend a week, in a caravan, on the east coast of Norfolk, in Great Yarmouth.  A place, I’ve been told, that I’ve been to several times.  I don’t remember any of them.

I’ve only stayed in a caravan once before and that was two years ago, another week in Clacton.  Being a caravan virgin, I’ll admit I was unsure, but I was pleasantly surprised by the fact that they are remarkably comfortable.  However, as neither I nor my wife drive we were kind of marooned and destined to enjoy the entertainment that was immediately around us.  Still, it was good week.

Now, over the years I have been told and learnt that you should never actually opt to go on holiday with family members.  I do not listen to people.  We are going this time with my brother-in-law and his family, which I must admit; I’m actually looking forward to.  No, really.  I think it’s going to be a load of fun.  Being the oldest however, I hope I’m not going to be appointed the responsible individual who makes the decisions, etc.  It puts you right off your pint if you have to be responsible….

Anyway, it’s not until September, so everybody please; join me in wishing positive mental thoughts for some nice weather in that week.  Pretty please?

One thought on “Man, I need a holiday….

Leave a Reply

