That didn’t go to plan…


Christmas 2012.

What a waste.

It was supposed to be a time of great joy and merriment.  I mean, that’s Christmas as a whole anyway but this year was supposed to be extra special, obviously with it being DJ’s first Chrimbo.

It was also our first Christmas where we stayed at home, cooked our own meals and ate our own snacks.  And most importantly got to watch what we wanted on the telly.

So what happened, I hear you ask?! (either that or the voices are back)

The dreaded flu.

If it was just one of us with it, it wouldn’t be so bad, just adapt around that one person and carrying on.  That is a bit more difficult to do when it’s the whole household who has contracted varying degrees of the illness.

The ability to enjoy copious amounts of food and drink dissipates just as quickly as the diminishing want to watch anything Christmassy on the BBC.

Don’t get me wrong, obviously we tried our best to have a good time.  Fighting off the nausea whilst playing Peppa Pig’s Snakes and Ladders.  Trying not to pass out whilst playing with SJ’s My Little Pony.  I tried my best.

I apolgise now to the parents who think it’s wrong, but at this time the TV made a great babysitter.  I could just about flick through the channels to keep her entertained.

Luckily for us, well me mainly, I start to get my strength back just in time to attend work.  How lucky can you get!

Anyway, I hope you all had a nice Christmas…

I Won't Be Merry

Leave a Reply

