Digital Life: Living With Fat Fingers


I have a confession. I hate computers.

Now don’t get me wrong, I am not a technophobe. I like new gadgets and gizmos. I’m young enough to be able to learn new things and embrace new technology.

On the flip side though, I work with computers every day and they drive me nuts. Seriously, nuts.

It wouldn’t be so bad if the computer system was as up to date as my daughters Peppa Pig laptop. There is not one good thing I can say about the work computers. My laptop at home is a lot better. I managed to buy myself a new one last year having never owned a new machine, and I love it. Football Manager has never been so good!

Then there’s the whole compatibility of working from home and newer files, blah blah. Don’t get me started!

But a couple of months ago I bought myself an iPad.

Yeah, that’s how I roll.

As I say, I embrace new things and I love Apple products (I’m going to hell for that), and the iPad is a great thing. But it’s been a couple of months and I’m only still really playing games. But I’m learning.

I have now learnt to write to my blog using it. I have photo editors, to do lists, note taking software, lots of things to help with life.

Apparently.

Problem is, usually in the evening you sit on the laptop for a couple of hours, do a few bits of work, turn it off go to bed. But these are portable. They go everywhere. I can often be found sitting in bed with this thing glued in my hand, updating twitter, posting to Facebook, wasting time in general.

There is no real point to this post, I might add. I’m just showing off that I have an iPad and I know how to use it! Kind of.

20130415-213020.jpg

2 thoughts on “Digital Life: Living With Fat Fingers

  1. I too am guilty of taking the laptop with me late into the night, forgoing much needed sleep, but unable to let go of my cyber world..and I am NOT tech savy, that makes it all the much sadder, I think im cool with my toys, but then some crazy kid will school me in exactly how ignorant I am..and yes that kid would be mine..but I can always sleep later..have fun!!!

Leave a Reply

