New job? No, just new house…


So, here we are again.

Right, well I still don’t have a job lined up but I have moved.  I have now moved into another house which is literally about a thirty second walk from the old house.

Yes, I can hear you, I believe ‘why’ is the question you are asking.  Ok, I’ll explain.

I work for the Civil Service and subsequently live in Government housing on the site where I work.  Very good for me as I don’t drive and the nearest town is about ten mile away, bad because I don’t drive and the nearest town is ten mile away.  Anyway…

The old house was oil fired central heating, really expensive to buy in bulk, but the heating system was also starting to fail.  It had all been there since the fifties and never replaced. So it really wasn’t being efficient, couple that with the inability to constantly purchase oil and the metal frame windows, all sorts of problems occur.

Well, suffice it to say, the new place has had a brand new system put into place which is said to be really green and efficient.  I’ll tell you when the first electric bill comes in, but it’s on constantly and it’s lovely!  It’s got new carpets, new paint, just feels better already.

The kids and animals have settled in instantly, which is a bonus, and even the missus has stopped moaning as much!  (Sorry dear, not quite true….)

But you know the really weird thing??  My department used to be based in a house on site, and I worked in that house for about six years.

Yeah, guess which house I’ve moved in to…..

Moving Home

Leave a Reply

